• Email:
  • Password:
  • Remember Me

Print   Subscribe    Share
RN,MSN,CDE,FAADE,CNS
Should we be screening patients on DPP-4 inhibitors for bullous pemphigoid?
Section:  Nursing

Should we be screening patients on DPP-4 inhibitors for bullous pemphigoid?

As a registered nurse, I always try to be aware of potential side effects of medications, so I can include screening for early signs of trouble from medications as part of a thorough assessment of my patients at each visit. I found it interesting to note the following article published in the February 2012 Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. It is entitled:Drug-induced bullous pemphigoid in diabetes mellitus patients receiving dipeptidyl peptidase-IV inhibitors plus metformin”

Here are some excerpts from the abstract of this article:   Preclinical data and reports of adverse skin reactions in patients treated with dipeptidyl peptidase-IV inhibitors (gliptins) have increased awareness towards skin-targeting side-effects of these anti-hyperglycaemic drugs. “

This report is based on 5 patients with diabetes who were taking a DPP-4 inhibitor plus metformin. The authors were struck by the fact that within six months,“six out of nine newly diagnosed bullous pemphigoid patients in our Department were type 2 diabetics. Five of them were on gliptin plus metformin (three different trade preparations) for 2-13 months prior to BP [bullous pemphigoid] onset. In all cases BP[bullous pemphigoid] was controlled after withdrawal of the suspected medication and relatively mild therapeutic interventions.”This is apparently “the first report of drug-induced BP[bullous pemphigoid] as a group adverse event of the gliptins plus metformin combination therapy for glycaemia control in type 2 diabetes mellitus patients.”